It has been sunny and above 80 degrees for a whole week! And best of all, no humidity! I love it. I wish the entire summer could be the same way. Days like this call for cold, refreshing low carb desserts, like a watermelon pizza! If you haven’t heard of watermelon fruit pizza before, it’s one of the easiest summer desserts you can make. It’s ready in just minutes, and there’s no need to turn on your oven. It’s perfect when it’s just too hot and you want to cool off!

To make a watermelon pizza “crust”, all you need to do is cut a thick, round slice down the center of the watermelon. You’re basically creating a disk. (You can easily cut several of them if you have a larger crowd, too.) Add your icing sauce, which whips up in a flash using a blender. You can drizzle or spread the icing as you like. I thought it looked prettier drizzled. Finally, top with fresh berries. You can even use other fruit as desired, but I chose berries to keep this dessert low in (natural) sugar. Even though watermelon pizza is still higher in carbs than most keto desserts, due to the natural sugars in the watermelon and berries, you can still find ways to fit it in. It has seven grams net carbs per slice. It’s definitely a special treat for those watching sugar intake – but it’s well worth it! I usually like to have a slice after a filling, very low carb summer main dish, like a juicy bunless burger on the grill. That way, I’m totally satisfied with just one slice. The icing itself is sugar-free, made with powdered erythritol. You can use another sweetener, but I don’t recommend a granulated one, which would be grainy. The powdered sweetener keeps the texture smooth and creamy. (Check my guide on sugar substitutes to learn more, and the sweetener conversion chart to get a general idea of how much to use. The exact amount will vary depending on your taste buds.)

I used raspberries and blueberries for the topping, creating the ultimate red-white-and-blue recipe for 4th of July. I’ve been looking for ways to make festive dishes that are more specific to holidays throughout the year, and this is one of them. Independence Day is still a couple of weeks away, but I’m definitely saving this watermelon pizza recipe for it. Be sure to pin it or bookmark it, so that you can make it then! I loved it so much that I wanted to share it early. My toddler agreed, too – she can’t get enough watermelon! She happily eats it every chance she gets. And, watermelon pizza is a great way to make a fun dessert that kids get excited about, without any added sugar or processed ingredients.

Blender – This high powered blender is one of the best I’ve ever used. Perfect for making the icing for this watermelon pizza. 8-Inch Chef’s Knife – This chef’s knife has a non-slip handle and is made of stainless steel. It’ll make cutting this watermelon pizza super easy.

  Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it!