She originally wrote it as a guest post to cover for me while I was in France (this was a common thing in the old school blogging days!). This luscious ice cream is now one I love to make, because it is unique but also homey. It hits the spot! This recipe begins with a simple rhubarb compote. It’s just that it’s so gosh darn delicious, and if the early days of summer were to have a taste, this is it. This compote is the perfect blend of sweet and tart. I was smitten after one bite, and if you’re a rhubarb lover I feel fairly certain you’d feel the same way. The sweet and slightly tart compote meets its destiny swirled through a batch of homemade ice cream. Have you ever tasted buttermilk on its own? I tried it once. If memory serves I took one sip and instantly spit it out. On its own I find buttermilk to be pretty wretched. But, mix it with some cream and sugar and it is transformed into something truly magical. Buttermilk Ice Cream is super creamy with a tang and richness that makes it the perfect compliment to the sweet and tart rhubarb.

Rhubarb Buttermilk Ice Cream - 64Rhubarb Buttermilk Ice Cream - 28Rhubarb Buttermilk Ice Cream - 40Rhubarb Buttermilk Ice Cream - 46Rhubarb Buttermilk Ice Cream - 26Rhubarb Buttermilk Ice Cream - 23