Posting the first pumpkin recipe of the year always feels a little like jumping into a giant pool of cold water. I hold my breath, close my eyes, dangle my foot over the edge, and 1, 2, 3… PUBLISH! It’s a little shocking at first (really? pumpkin?), but at the same time, it feels so good. And, in the case of today’s maple-sweetened, crispy-crunchy, healthy pumpkin pie granola recipe, it tastes so good too.

About This Pumpkin Granola Recipe

Over the weekend, two girlfriends from college came to visit for a mini-reunion. While we did a few things around the city, the absolute best part of our weekend was the hours we spent on my back porch, talking long into the night the way only best friends can do. We’ve known each other for 13 years, and there are few people with whom I feel more myself. At around 1 a.m., we realized we were starving, and a post-midnight snack was in order. I broke out the container of Pumpkin Granola, and by the end of the weekend, we’d munched the entire batch. I had originally planned to share this Pumpkin Granola in a few weeks, but it hit the spot so sweetly for us that I thought that it might for you too. Pumpkin plunge, here we come! A version of this pumpkin quinoa granola recipe first appeared on my blog back in 2013, four years and what must be four dozen batches of homemade granola ago. Since then, I’ve learned a lot of tricks to make homemade granola healthier, crispier, and more satisfying. You’ll see that wisdom applied to today’s new and improved version of the recipe. I’ve replaced the brown sugar with more natural sweeteners: maple syrup and a touch of coconut sugar. The oil has been swapped for an egg white, which makes the granola extra crispy and adds protein too (see notes if you prefer to omit the egg white or make the granola vegan). I also added helpful notes about how to cook and flip the granola to maximize the chunks. Does anyone else pick through bags of granola looking for the biggest pieces? If yes, you are going to adore this recipe! For even more crunch and satisfaction, I added uncooked millet, which is a delightful, healthy whole grain. If you can’t find it, quinoa is a perfect substitute. To up the pumpkin factor, I stirred in pepitas (pumpkin seeds), pecans, and dried cranberries. The result is a fall-spiced pumpkin granola that tastes good at all hours, including the wee ones. Need a gluten-free granola? Try this Gluten Free Granola recipe. Or if you are craving chocolate, dig into this Chocolate Granola.

How to Serve Pumpkin Granola

While this granola is delicious eaten as is, here are a few ideas of how to serve it:

With Milk. Serve this recipe with milk and sliced fruit (bananas would be tasty).With Greek Yogurt. The perfect breakfast combination!With Ice Cream. I haven’t tried it over ice cream yet, but I have a strong suspicion that would be quite yummy too.

Fish spatula: Ideal for flipping the granola and keeping it nice and chunkyParchment paper (I love these precut sheets)All-purpose rimmed baking sheet Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 14Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 27Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 34Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 22Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 87Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 73Pumpkin Granola   WellPlated com - 35