I’ve long identified myself as an over-eager over achiever who bounds out of bed ready to give the day if not my best, then at least my honest effort. Lately, however, that vigor has been harder to find. Do you ever have mornings where you what to hit snooze until it’s time to go to bed again? I’ve had a few recent mornings like that.

I’ve been reflecting more about why I’ve been feeling this way, and honestly much of it has to do with feeling stressed and overwhelmed. I’m working on reprioritizing and reminding myself that, while the day-to-day moments feel like I’m holding my breath while hopping on one foot, balancing an apple on my head, responding to an email, and poaching an egg, the bigger, capital G-picture (a.k.a. why I am totally overwhelmed) is thrilling. I have more than one Great Big Exciting Thing happening that I can’t wait to share with you! New is coming soon (SO SOON!) Thanks for sticking with me in the meantime. However overwhelmed I feel, one element of my day that I refuse to sacrifice is a healthy, filling breakfast. Life puts much outside of our control. With a little planning, we can all start the morning with basic nourishment to sustain us for whatever the rest of the day has in store. I’ve been working on this gluten free muffins recipe for a while now, and I am beyond pleased with how it turned out. I went through a few different versions and am happy to report that these gluten free muffins with almond flour are the winner. They’re moist, easy to make, and adaptable to any of your favorite muffin mix-ins. I opted for gluten free blueberry muffins, but you can use this same base recipe for gluten free muffins with chocolate chips, dried cranberries or cherries, nuts, or whatever other flavors are most likely to enliven your morning.

The Best Gluten Free Muffins Recipe

Even if you aren’t following a gluten free diet, these Gluten Free Muffins are worth baking. Because they are made with almond flour, they’re naturally higher in protein and healthy fats and low carb compared to other muffin recipes. (If you’re wondering what else you can make with almond flour, this Almond Flour Banana Bread is a great choice.) These easy gluten free muffins are also naturally sweetened. I used a mashed banana and pure maple syrup to make them tender and sweet. Honey would work nicely too. One unusual ingredient you’ll find in the recipe is apple cider vinegar. Don’t skip it! The vinegar reacts with the baking soda to help the muffins rise. Remember the volcano in science class? It’s the same idea. My biggest gripe with other gluten free muffin recipes I’ve tried is that they are too dense and heavy. The vinegar solves that issue.

How to Store and Freeze These Muffins

To Store. Store muffins in an airtight container lined with paper towels in the refrigerator for up to 5 days. To Freeze. For freezing instructions, see my guide for How to Store Muffins.

More Healthy Muffin Recipes

Coconut Flour Muffins (also gluten free!) Banana Oatmeal Muffins Healthy Blueberry Muffins  And, all these other healthy muffin recipes!

And now a little video! Here’s me, baking up these gluten free blueberry muffins. I hope you love these as much as my video crew did. We didn’t have a single muffin leftover at the end of the shoot day!  

Gluten Free Muffins  Easy and Moist    WellPlated com - 25Gluten Free Muffins  Easy and Moist    WellPlated com - 98Gluten Free Muffins  Easy and Moist    WellPlated com - 27Gluten Free Muffins  Easy and Moist    WellPlated com - 14Gluten Free Muffins  Easy and Moist    WellPlated com - 6Gluten Free Muffins  Easy and Moist    WellPlated com - 41