This post is sponsored by Jennie-O. All opinions are my own and I only share products I personally love. Thanks for supporting the brands that make this site possible! Today’s cauliflower nachos combine three of my favorite food themes in the world: low carb, easy, and Mexican food. Oh, and cauliflower. Obviously. Because cauliflower is the answer at least half the time when you want something low carb to be delicious! Buffalo cauliflower wings and cauliflower mashed potatoes anyone? If you are looking for a healthy nachos recipe… friends, this is it! Who needs chips when you have thinly sliced cauliflower with caramelized edges?

A Healthy Nachos Recipe with Ground Turkey Taco Meat

Even though I love low carb tortilla chips, sometimes too much keto baking can be a problem. So, I was thinking about how to make healthy nachos without chips. Not even low carb chips. When I discovered Jennie-O Taco Seasonings Turkey Sausage at my doorstep and I happened to have a head of cauliflower sitting in my fridge, it was a match made in heaven. More veggies and delicious taco meat with less effort? Count me in. I instantly knew that cauliflower nachos with taco meat would be amazing! And, the pre-made taco meat from Jennie-O saved me some time in the kitchen. Win all around. If you love turkey sausage as much as we do, try my turkey sausage breakfast casserole recipe.

How Many Carbs in Cauliflower Nachos?

The number of carbs in cauliflower nachos varies depending on what you put on them, and how much. You can customize this healthy nachos recipe to your liking! As written, the cauliflower nachos recipe below has 14 grams total carbs and 8 grams net carbs per serving. This is based on the following super-simple ingredients:

Cauliflower Avocado oil Taco seasoning Ground turkey taco meat (I used turkey sausage, but Jennie-O makes regular taco seasoned turkey, too!) Cheddar cheese Tomatoes Avocado Red onion Fresh cilantro

This carb count is a little on the higher side for keto, but all the carbs come from veggies, which is great. I’m definitely happy to fit this healthy nachos recipe into my low carb lifestyle! If you’re eating keto and need lower carbs than that, you can omit the red onion, which has the highest carbs in this recipe. Reducing the tomatoes can help, too.

How To Make Cauliflower Nachos with Taco Meat

The key to making cauliflower nachos is to make “chips” out of cauliflower by slicing it thinly. This makes the edges caramelize when roasting, which just might be the best thing you ever do with cauliflower. You don’t have to cut it into florets first. Simply slice the whole head of cauliflower, about 1/4 inch thick. After slicing, it’s easy to break up any larger pieces into smaller ones, but I actually like to leave them better so that they hold toppings well. Brown the ground turkey taco meat while the cauliflower is roasting. With the Jennie-O Taco Seasonings Turkey Sausage, I didn’t even have to add anything to the pan to make taco meat, which was super convenient. But you have plain ground turkey, feel free to just add taco seasoning to that. Flip the pieces of cauliflower over once they start to caramelize on the bottom. Top with the cooked ground turkey taco meat, tomatoes, red onions, and shredded cheese. Pop it in the oven again until the cheese is melt-y and gooey. Finally, sprinkle some cubed avocado and fresh cilantro on top (or even some fresh tomato salsa!). Doesn’t that sound delicious? Let’s make some healthy turkey nachos – with cauliflower! If you’re looking for more ways to use cauliflower, try cauliflower pizza crust, buffalo cauliflower bites, or cauliflower tortillas. If you like tacos in more portable form, try walking tacos. Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Red onion contributes the most carbs in this recipe, so feel free to omit for keto.