My love for milkshakes began in my childhood, when my dad would make vanilla shakes in the blender for my sisters and me as a special post-dinner treat. The milkshake affair continued on to high school, where every weekend, my friends and I would end the night at the one and only 24-hour diner on our side of town. My order was always a large milkshake. I’d pressure my then-boyfriend into ordering fries so that I could dip them. (I KNOW. I’m one of those fry-in-the Frosty people.) In college, I worked at a late-night on-campus eatery, where I became intimately acquainted with the shake needs of rowdy undergrads at 3 a.m. Today, I still love the taste, texture, and refreshing nature of milkshakes but not the heavy feeling they leave in my stomach afterward. This is a healthy date shake recipe without ice cream, but it tastes like a true treat. You’re going to love it!

How to Make the Best Date Shake

The original date shake came from Palm Springs. But with a few simple ingredients, no matter where you live you can make a vanilla date shake for a fraction of what you’d pay at a fancy resort.

A date shake has the same consistency as a traditional milkshake, but the sweetness comes entirely from the dates and frozen banana.This is also a vegan date shake recipe, which means those with dairy allergies can enjoy it (the same is true of my copycat Shamrock Shake).

The Ingredients

Dates. Dates are nature’s candy! They give this shake plenty of sweetness without the need for added sugar. Dates are packed with fiber and antioxidants. Frozen Bananas. Blended frozen bananas taste remarkably like ice cream and make the shake thick, sweet, and creamy. Bananas are rich in potassium and fiber. Almond Butter. Gives the shake richness and nuttiness. With healthy fats, almond butter also helps make it more satisfying.

Vanilla Almond Milk. I love the subtle vanilla flavor and nuttiness of vanilla almond milk, but you can use any milk you have on hand. Vanilla. Adds a warmth that perfectly complements the dates.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Refrigerate leftovers for up to 1 day. To thicken it up again, reblend the mixture with more frozen fruit, ice, or dates. To Freeze. Freeze the date shake in an airtight, freezer-safe storage container for up to 1 month. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator before serving.

Banana Date Shake Recipe Variations

Go Tropical. Add mango and sprinkle the top with toasted coconut.Chocolate. Add a teaspoon or two of unsweetened cocoa powder and a handful of chocolate chips.Protein Date Shake. Feel free to add a scoop of your favorite vanilla protein powder. Chocolate protein powder in the chocolate version would be mighty tasty too.

High-Powered Blender. Check out this one for a more economical option. Measuring Spoons. I love how easily these stay together during storage. Stainless Steel Straws. My favorite straws to use for shakes and smoothies!

I hope you love this rich, creamy, healthy banana date shake as much as we do. I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Honey Bars

1 hr

Oat Milk Ice Cream

2 hrs 30 mins

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 hr 23 mins Leave a rating below in the comments and let me know how you liked the recipe.

Pumpkin Milkshake

5 mins

Easy Hot Chocolate

5 mins

Raspberry Champagne Float

1 min

Date Shake   WellPlated com - 4Date Shake   WellPlated com - 91Date Shake   WellPlated com - 92Date Shake   WellPlated com - 57Date Shake   WellPlated com - 75Date Shake   WellPlated com - 79Date Shake   WellPlated com - 34Date Shake   WellPlated com - 68Date Shake   WellPlated com - 56Date Shake   WellPlated com - 27Date Shake   WellPlated com - 66Date Shake   WellPlated com - 14Date Shake   WellPlated com - 64Date Shake   WellPlated com - 98Date Shake   WellPlated com - 96Date Shake   WellPlated com - 72Date Shake   WellPlated com - 86Date Shake   WellPlated com - 12Date Shake   WellPlated com - 79